Coming to a Mind Near You

The Leica X 1

I got the Leica X1 prior to its official release, we at Immortal made that decision cause A) Its a Leica and B) Cause in many ways, the X 1 was very different than anything else on the market in terms of its size, weight, menu, large sensor, superior image quality, and its ability to shoot in very low light. It was simply too much for us as street photographers to resist.

I wont go on and bore you with technical details, all I am going to do is show you some of the work I did yesterday in downtown Amman between 5 and 7 pm. Before we get to that I will tell you what I like and don’t like about the camera, as Lath mentioned before , when shooting at a light source directly the light comes out a bit awkward, also the auto focus function is a bit slow, causing one to miss some shots, one can get used to its speed and thus the number of those missed shots decreases a lot, I have had the camera for a month and the last two runs I definitely got the overwhelming of the shots I wanted, the manual focus is also an issue and I will post about it later when I get a better handle on it.

So is the Leica X1 worth its price tag? (Almost $2000) Most definitely simply because as a compact camera, and in terms of working in high ISO, the sharpness and vivid details of the images, the simple menu features, its size, weight, design, and lack of digital noise, its in a class of its own, there is no other compact camera that has all these features. I think the sharpness of the images speak for themselves.

The feather man, always, always in down town

This gentleman is simply nuts, he  was uttering some uncoherent words , he then would stop and flip the ages of the book infront of him and seconds later returns to uttering his craziness as he rocked back and forth.

Crazy dude ten mins later

the sun was almost gone at this stage

I went to an antique / record store for about 45  mins this was around seven pm

Thats one part that I really love about the Leica X1. You can get sharp images like this because of its sensor and because its size allows you to walk unoticed really close to the subjects you want to shoot.
Shot at ISO 800
You buy a camera for what it can do and how it can do it, is there any other compact camera that can do this? Image this sharp at  ISO 800, F 3.2 . 1/60 SEC?


I think this is my favorite

5 responses

  1. the pictures are beautiful! very raw….
    you guys are pushing me to invest in a Leica!!! 🙂

    March 21, 2010 at 11:26 am

  2. Shireen

    Beautiful pictures!

    March 21, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  3. you really captured the essence of downtown making it seem like a surreal place.. and in many ways it is!!!!
    p.s. i love the crazy guy.. such character…
    keep it up.. always beautiful

    March 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  4. yeah, love the pictures here as well! especially the crazy dude, he looks bit like from our neighborhood in Hamburg… your blog got a spot in my reader now. good to see some hiphop flava and great photos! best, philipp

    March 21, 2010 at 8:57 pm

  5. Pingback: Why I like my X1

Leave a Reply

